Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Mar. 13, 2003 - 2:20 pm

Monday morning, I woke up THIRSTY. I needed something besides bottled water and made my way down to the gift shop for a coke and a sprite. We all decided to take a bus into town to shop around and grab lunch. We went down by the Malecon area again, and across from the Malecon, is the Plaza Principal, which is the city�s main square, bordered on one side by City Hall and on the other by banks and shops. It has a large central gazebo with benches where I saw some locals protesting the war. I also got shots of that. It was deeply satisfying to walk by and have people yelling, �Bush is crazy� that far away from home. The Lady of Guadalupe Cathedral can be seen from the opposite side of the square towards the east. Stunning. We were also there on Ash Wednesday, and although I felt the guilt of not going to Mass, it brought back memories of all those years wearing ashes on my forehead.

We had lunch at Carlos O�Brian�s , which I guess you just have to do at least once right? I had the Charbroiled Chicken Breast with yummy bbq sauce, b/c as you can see on the menu (tourists love this). I had a yard of Pina Colada, and decided I needed a new little outfit at my favorite shop down there, LOB . This link wasn�t working when I wrote this..but, maybe soon, it will work. We continued our shopping all day long until it was time to head back to get ready for dinner. It seemed like all we did was EAT! Yummy. This night the food was so scrumptious! We went to the Kit Kat Lounge and Caf� in what is apparently the gay district of PV. It was awesome! They are known for their martinis, and I must say, they make �em dirty the way they should be! I think with our party, we were the only straight people in the swank joint, save K. I miss my gay boyz from SF! It was reminiscent of any big city high-styled club. I�m bummed we missed out on the Fat Tuesday drag show we were invited to the next night! The candlelight, cushy, leopard patterned chairs and swinging tunes while we sipped our martinis made me feel like I was an ultra hipster on the Puerto Vallarta scene.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!