Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 27, 2003 - 3:10 pm

Hey folks. I don�t feel like doing jack shit at work today. I�ve got a ton of updating to do, so bare with me, all right. Let�s see�last week: (isn�t it weird when you can�t even remember what you�ve done for an entire week?) Friday the 16th: I met Birdie , RDG and Itzie . We had a lovely night eating sushi and then heading over to T-Rock�s house to meet her brother and enjoy a very chill evening at home. I was so PMS, that I cried when we watched the viewing of T-Rock�s speech at her parent�s renewal of their vows ceremony. Saturday the 17th and Sunday the 18th: I seriously have no idea what I did! Saturday morning around 11, Red and I had to be at an offsite retreat for work. LAME. I would go into details, but they�re pretty boring, and I�m just tired of all of the bullshit that goes on b/w attorneys and staff here at the firm, and the result of the retreat was pretty much..things aren�t going to change. Then, Red and I went and got our fingernails painted all purty-like and felt fancy. Actually, hers were fancy..mine would have been perfect if I were going to a rave or somewhere that night that my fingernails could have glowed..but, I wasn�t. Sunday, I know that I shopped for a dress to wear to my very first wedding shower, and I know that Scott and I fixed our registry� Other than that..I think that was about it. I�m getting old here, folks..so, cut me some slack. So, Monday the 19th, Red was off doing her WA Toxics thingy, and left me here to deal with all of these people at Walker Gambini Sandwich and Boombati. Uggggggg. That night, we went over to our friends� apartment and ordered pizza and watched The Emperor's Club. I�m so ready for my Nursing Assistant�s License! Once I get that, I�ll be able to completely inform all of my bosses (two out of the four know) and our office manager of my plans to leave, and begin looking for jobs at the local hospitals. The envelope has been signed, sealed and delivered to the State Department of Health (and I just found out today that they have cashed the $15.00 check inside)..so there�s just the waiting for the License part..and I�m ON MY WAY OUT. I�m going to look at Overlake Hospital over here, since it is very close, and if I did end up working nights, I�ll be close to home. Tuesday, the 20th: Scott and I decided to request the pleasure of the flowers company at half past six o'clock, for the season finale of Gilmore Girls and dinner, featuring grilled copper river salmon. I sent out fancy e-mail invites in Edwardian script that followed Ms. Post�s advice to the T (I�m practicing, you see). Salmon, girly television and hot tubbing was just what the doctor ordered. Scott was also an excellent host, chef and waiter. Ya-ya! Wednesday, the 21st: I�m not entirely sure what I did this evening. I know it consisted of packing, laundry, and SOMETHING. But, I�m not sure what. Thursday, the 22nd: This day was hilarious! I woke up, excited as hell to come home and decided to give a friend of mine a call and let her know that I was going to be in Gadsden for the weekend. The last I had seen her, she was living back with her parents and her little boy and trying to find a job..so, naturally, I called her parents� house to leave her the message. So, I�m scrolling through my phone after the call, and figure out that her cell number was in my cell phone. So, I tried calling that, as well. The answering machine message did not sound like her voice, and it was very similar to something like, �Hi, you�ve reached Katie and ? so and so, and it was not the Katie that I called from that morning. So, I hung up without leaving a message. Around lunchtime, I heard back from Katie #2 and it was one of my sorority sisters from college (DO NOT EVEN FUCKING JUDGE ME RIGHT NOW. IT IS JUST THE NEXT PHASE THAT SOUTHERN GIRLS DID, AND I FOLLOWED..ASK ANYONE, I AM SO NOT A SORORITY GIRL). She is now married and they are due with their first baby in July (and the reason she didn�t call to let me know she was getting married..is that she was, well..a little rushed to get married, so to speak). So, seriously, like an hour later Katie #1 calls me back, and she does want to see me this weekend, and told me her ironic news. She is 3 months pregnant with her second child and she and her boyfriend are getting married after the baby is born. So..there you go. The first thing I did when I got off of work is drive to Fred Meyer to pick up my birth control pill, since I was going to be in Alabama on Sunday, and needed to make sure I had it before my trip. Yeesh. I guess it�s something in the water down there�So, we then take Molly to obedience school, finish packing, head over to drop Molly off at her puppy sitters and head down to SEATAC to catch the Redeye for Alabama. We arrived in Birmingham, Alabama at 9:30 in the morning on Friday, the 23rd. With little to no sleep, we freshened up in the bathrooms after getting our baggage and met up with my sister. My sister was our chauffer for the day. We drove from Birmingham, all the way up to Flat Rock, AL (yes, Flat Rock) to meet with our photographer. From Flat Rock, we ventured to Scottsboro to meet the Judge who was marrying us. We were starving since the McDonalds meal from before obedience school was the last full meal we had eaten. So, we decided to introduce Scott to Western Sizzlin . Yummmmm� After that, we headed to Fyffe, AL to meet with our florist (now keep in mind, that all of these places are about a 30 min. drive away from each other..and we still haven�t had a shower since before work on Thursday). I honestly had no idea what all we talked about, and hopefully when she sends me my estimate..it will be what we needed. From there, we were FINALLY heading back to my parents house for the lovely Italian feast that my Mom had prepared. Scott�s parents arrived that night, and we all had a wonderful time doing family bonding. Saturday, the 24th: we all got up and drove the families up to Rock City. Good times. We had lunch at the Lookout Mountain Caf�, and I had the best Chicken Salad sandwich I think I�ve ever had! Horseshoes and grilling out steaks occupied our evening..and it was so wonderful that our parents were getting along so well. Sunday, the 25th: Scott and I got up early to drive his parents up to the Lodge on Gorham�s Bluff , which is where Scott and I are getting married. They fortunately loved it, and we headed back home to get ready for our very first Wedding Shower. It was an amazing day. It is SO hard to communicate and actually visit at a shower! I had no idea! My entire family was there, plus friends from high school and college, and it was way too many people to actually have time to enjoy them. Alas, our parents met, and we made it through the weekend wonderfully. Last night, we decided to have Scary Movie night..which is something we try to do every Sunday night, so if you�d like to come, please invite yourself. Yes, I know yesterday was Monday..but, Red had never seen Seven and I decided she needed to. Itzie , RDG and T-Rock and her friend all came over to enjoy Brad�s horrible acting and the 7 deadly sins. So, now that it is 3 o�clock and this is all I�ve been doing (besides other emails) since one..I guess I�ll try to do something. Au Revoir, Monkey

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!