Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Apr. 26, 2004 - 11:29 pm

A sweetheart friend of mine is dealing with the loss of her grandfather right now, and as I was studying for my Psychology test tomorrow, I came across some words that I thought I'd share with her. Cruzn, if you could forward this on to her with a big hug, well, I'd surely appreciate it.

Miss S., "Facing death with dignity and openness helps people complete the life cycle with a sense of life's meaningfulness and unity - the sense that their existence has been good and that life and death are parts of an ongoing cycle. Although death may be unwelcome, life itself can be affirmed even at death. This is especially so for people who review their lives not with despair but with Erik Erikson called a sense of integrity - a feeling that one's life has been meaningful and worthwile."

It is hard for me to recognize my strengths sometimes, but understanding another person's feelings has always been one of them; it's one of the reasons I chose to be a nurse. In this case, having lost a grandfather, I understand what you are going through right now. I hope this passage helps alleviate a little bit of your grief.

Affectionately, Monkey.

*D. Thomas

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!