Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Sept. 04, 2004 - 12:10 pm

This morning, I woke up all refreshed from going to bed early on a Friday. We decided not to go to Bumbershoot last night.

We moved into our new facility for work, and it involved mucho box lifting, unpacking, box breaking down, recycling and placing things where they needed to be to get ready for class on Tuesday. We had to come up with seating charts, fix a computer table, align the desks the way we wanted, and in general, get things ready in and under 7 hours that we were approved to work. Needless to say, I had an extremely busy day yesterday.

When I left Bellevue at 4 p.m., it was insane traffic, I still had to get home and shower and retrieve husband to then get back in the car, head downtown again for the second evening in a row and the thought of driving around looking for parking for Bumbershoot made me nauseous. I'm sad I missed U.S.E., but, we also couldn't afford the $50 it would have been for us to get in and the money for cocktails post U.S.E.

The wedding festivities in L.A. drained our bank account and I hate it when that happens, but it does.

We decided to spend the weekend together, painting and reading and relaxing and football watching. Now, to most of my friends, I know...I don't really come across as a major football fan. I'm not. I'm an Auburn football fan. I graduated from Auburn University, and I love anything affiliated with football season. I can almost smell Auburn right now, as I sit here at my computer, tuned into the official Auburn Network listening to the game online. We're up right now, and my cute brother (who is a senior there right now) text messages me every time we score!

If you were there right now, you'd be amazed at how full the stadium is and the sea of orange and blue that is drowning the Louisiana-Monroe Indian fans. You'd smell Jack Daniels mixed with sugary coca-cola on my breath, and I might even share my stash with you if you were lucky. The smell of hot dogs, roasted and boiled (yes, boiled) peanuts, pretzels, and all of the other starch loaded goodness would make anyone I stood around salivate.

My Mom is spending her labor day weekend at the beach down in Gulf Shores, AL, where we grew up playing on the beach, and she, too is listening to the game.

I think the reason I love SEC, and particularly Auburn football so much, is because EVERY one loves it in the South. My family, especially. You really don't even have to enjoy or understand, for that matter, the game of football is the interesting thing! My most favorite moments of Thanksgiving used to be eating until we almost popped and falling asleep on the couch with my family all around me while whatever game might be on at the time (Auburn or Alabama).

I'm going to finish my tea, and wait for Scott to get back from Home Depot..and then, we'll start painting again, and maybe look for a Nascar race or something on ESPN (after the game, of course). Ha!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!