Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2003 - 4:48 pm

Saturday morning, the 1st, S. and I got up ass early to head out to the airport to fly down to Puerto Vallarta. I don�t know what it is lately, but I have been more and more scared about flying lately. I dove into "The Hours" and that kept me occupied for the duration of the trip, so that was good. The best part is that Scott bumped us up to first class on the leg from San Jose, CA down to Mexico, so the royal treatment and the sleep were very nice.

We flew in, took a cab to the Qualton and met up with his parents to begin our fun filled adventurous week. We showed up just in time for the sunset, and as soon as I get my photos developed, I�ll do my best to share them with those interested. We started the week off right by enjoying dinner at Le Bistro Jazz Cafe which as you can see on the site, sits on the �Island of Puerto Vallarta's Rio Cuale�. Fabulous darlings, fabulous. After dinner, we walked over to the Malecon, which is Spanish for "waterfront boulevard." It is a half-mile long boardwalk that borders the shoreline in the El Centro area on the main street. There are many vendors that line up in a miniature market along the Malecon, and my favorite that night was this young girl who did spray paint art. She was a badass.

Sunday, we woke up late, and ventured out to El Gigante, which is this huge department and grocery store in Puerto Vallarta's main �shopping mall�. My queasiness had already kicked in, and I threw up in this department store�s restroom. ICK. K., S. and I all found Gigante jerseys that were essentially polyester that we SHOULD have bought for STP, but, we never did. That is my biggest regret of the week. Alas, there will be no �Team Gigante�. I got really freaked out at the end of our shopping trip b/c for some reason I one of the bazillion things I take for granted (child labor law) was staring me right in the face. All these kids in grocery store outfits waiting for tips for bagging food, and taking your cart out to your car, or in our case, wheeling the fucker back to our hotel! I felt a lot better when S.�s dad tipped that little girl her wages for a month! We ate breakfast in, and ventured out for our first day on the beach. It was very interesting to learn the ways of bargaining from the beach vendors. It also eventually can get on your nerves a little bit, but, mostly the people are just making their living and I must admit, I miss hearing people say, �for the lady, senor?� We were joined that afternoon by one of S.�s best friends, B., who was going to be spending the week with us. That night we all got ready and headed to the Adobe Caf� for dinner. We started at their small bar alcove for a drink while we waited, but, I had a coke, b/c my stomach was rumbling. The restaurant had white walls and rustic wood accents, lots of candles and a weird waiter. Nothing seemed appetizing to my obnoxious stomach (I threw up again while we were waiting to order), but, I ordered red snapper anyway, hoping to at least keep that down and I DID. Fortunately, that snapper charmed my stomach, and the battle with her was over for the rest of the week.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!