Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, November 20, 2003 - 12:36 am

A lot has happened today. I'm exhausted right now..but, I'll try to recap.

It was hard to wake up this morning b/c I've been attacked with this weird spell of insomnia. I mean, don't get me wrong..I can go to sleep..it's just not until around one or so. My husband goes to bed around 10..and so do I usually..so, hopefully, you can see how this might be annoying.

Anyway, I pulled myself out of bed, showered and made myself dress up a bit..including mild makeup, as Scott and I had a 12:45 p.m. appt. with our Escrow folks to sign the assloads of paperwork that accompany buying a place. It's really INSANE. But, now the place is ours and well, it feels damn good. We might be way the hell out in buttfuck Renton..but, we own something..and in 3 years we'll have a decent amount of equity to invest in something closer to the city and return to where the civilized folk live. I'm actually kind of excited to live in strip mall hell..er..strip fast food hell. It puts me back in small town America where I'm from, dig.

Plus, there's IKEA. (Oh..buy your Christmas tree from IKEA..they recycle it and like give you most of your money back.)

Anyhoo..I worked today, also doing my regular Mary Poppins duties..so that was enjoyable. It's always a good day when the cutest 4 year old in the world just sort of out of the blue says, "I love you, Monkey." So cute.

Then, school. I got to dissect an eyeball tonight. Very fascinating. I also figured out that my right eye was dominant (although, shh..I already knew that)..and watched a cataract surgery, and figured out where my blind spot is and that I actually am not very good at balancing. I need yoga, I guess.

I also found out about these amazing devices called cochlear implants. My friend's daughter has one and she told us all about it. If you're interested, read this.

Anyways, then I came home and made Scott do the balance tests. He's a good balancer.

Scott and I are also addicted to watching this series: "Taken". It's SO good. I know, I'm a huge science geek now. I really want to be abducted after this series.

As for after the show..well, I talked to Birdgyrl tonight and it's funny how people read each other. I think I'm going to be a damn good psych nurse one day. The little girl in "Taken" is so cute. I want to be a little alien child and read people's emotions and minds and make them better. I actually think I'm pretty darn good at tuning into people's emotions..I'm just not so good at following my own advice. Here's this jist of what I want to share with some folks as we approach a time of thanks...

I got this advice from Robert Thurman, PhD, author of "Inner Revolution".

"There are many ways of presenting enlightenment, because in a way it's beyond all presentation. It's a higher awareness that is indescribable. Even more, awareness is pretty indescribable. That doesn't stop people from trying to describe it. I define it as an awakening to an awareness that breaks out of rigid self centeredness so that a person actually experiences the world from the perspective of another, equally with the way he or she used to perceive it just from their own perspective. You could call it a kind of selfless experience, or an experience of many perspectives. Surprisingly, you wouldn't think so, but people who achieve that awareness are much happier than people who are locked into their own selfish perspective only. Another sign of enlightenment is a great feeling of happiness, and the manifestation of happiness by the enlightened person. It is possible to achieve. Hundreds of millions of people throughout history have achieved it, people of all religions, although they tend to be thought of as mystics, when they do. It's the heart of all love, faith, and kindness and wisdom, is selflessness."

Dig?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!