Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12 February 2006 - 1:56

(Jesus, I just re-read this..and just forgive me, b/c I am very very tired.)

It's my third night of orientation on the unit at my hospital. I'm officially working again (part-time, graveyard shift) and am so glad the anxiety I had about leaving Anna is behind me. I'm still a little sad to leave her, but I know deep down having my life back to myself for a bit is needed and healthy for both of us. And, she and Scott are bonding just beautifully.

I, however, am not exactly thrilled about the new position. Don't get me wrong..the pay (including the night/weekend differentials) increase is NICE and the experience/connections for when I want to go to school are amazing..but, graveyard shift stinks. All of my patients are snoozing, and so clinically..there just ain't much to it.

A description of what I do is simple. Come to work, listen to the dictation from the charge nurse on the previous shift give a run-down of how everyone's doing, go to desk, do paperwork/charting for 2 hours and rounds every 30 minutes to make sure they're all snoozing (and..aren't killing themselves). Occasionally, I get to counsel them or admit new patients depending on how exciting the unit will be for the evening. And lastly, do vital signs. Otherwise, I get to read. Some may say that is their dream job..and I know that the some of us could do all of our work in 3 hours if we wanted to..but, the night goes sooooooooooo slow.

One perc..I make more money now working part time than I did working full time at the school. Nice, eh? I think I may have mentioned this a couple of entries back..but, I'm excited about that part.

Lately, I've been watching a lot of Sex and the City. Carrie is doing a hell of a lot more for me than Rory these days. In fact, I just started Season 4 and I am still loving every minute of my marathon. It brings back fond memories of single life in San Francisco and I'm missing my girly nights here in Seattle. I hate to admit it..but, so far..I'm more of a Big fan than Aidan..but, what do I know..I just started Season 4. Not to be too personal here..but, it has also rekindled my mojo. I have thought of a million responses to Mrs. R.'s guestbook entry about how a child "completes" you. Don't get me wrong..I am and always have been a breeder and I couldn't be more thankful for my pretty baby. But being a mommy and a wife, combined with career aspirations, school aspirations, holidays, housekeeping, etc...etc..etc...puts a HUGE drain on the sex life. And, I don't know about you Ms. Golly..but, being complete to me, means having all of the aforementioned in sync (especially the sex). I can barely find time to dry my hair. Basically, without being terribly sentimental or cheesy, I'm proud of my friends and respect the fact that we're all unique in our lovely ways. It just makes us better.

p.s. Okay..Mrs. R, we need to stop exchanging emails about our get together and just DO IT already. I fucking miss you.


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!