Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

16 March 2006 - 4:44

Are you kidding me right now? Look at what time it is. Uggh. A week ago, I was sleeping and about to board a plane to Arizona. We originally were scheduled to leave this Friday, but we had to leave sooner b/c Scott's grandpa's health was failing. We went down to introduce Anna Lee to Grandpa Doc and we did two days before he passed away.
In my line of work, I've watched senior citizens and cancer patients die, but when it's your family, it sticks with you. I'm glad I was there, though. I think it even inspired me to work for Hospice (well, volunteer now..work once I'm an RN). There's truly something beautiful about being with someone when they pass. He was a very good man and I'm wearing a necklace he made for me right this minute.

I also contributed to Doc's last meal with my obsession for Chick-Fil-A. When I figured out that Surprise, AZ had one, I had to have it. I do this every time I go to AL, too. He hadn't had one bite to eat in 2 whole days..and when I asked the room who wanted a chicken sandwich, Doc raised his hand! Ha! And, he ate every bite. I love it.

I have a very special connection with his wife, Helen..and my heart aches the most for her. It's weird..I'm closer to Helen than I am my own grandmother. This year would have been their 65th. Crazy shit, eh?

So.......that explains why I haven't written in a while. It also explains why I'm way behind on sending thank you cards to special diarylanders (you know who you are) and why I am dying to know what happened last week on Gilmore Girls. I was pissed last night was a re-run.

Um, in other news...Scott and I are looking to move again. I think we're sticking to this side, but moving up North..so, at least we'll be closer. We're not moving out in the country just yet. Just to the city in which I work. Yeah, yeah..I don't want to hear it. I'm closer, okay? And, loving the fact that my commute will be all of 5 minutes, at the most. Also loving the fact that Seattle is also 5 min. away...and Ballard will be 10-15, instead of half an hour. Trust me, I wish I could afford Ballard..but, we just can't. Not yet. Maybe next time.
Somebody wake up and keep me company.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!